Skip to main
University-wide Navigation


The University Senate (Senate) determines broad academic policies of the University of Kentucky. Senate meetings generally take place the second Monday of the month during the academic year during the fall and spring semesters and are open to the public. Governing Regulation IV describes the composition, authority, and functions of the University Senate and the University of Kentucky. The President of the University of Kentucky is the chair of the Senate, but the responsibility of chairing Senate meetings and other duties is typically delegated to the chair of the Senate Council (the Senate’s executive body). The University Senate has three academic councils and numerous committees.

University Senate

The Senate is composed of both elected and ex officio members, including ninety-four (94) full-time faculty members elected from and by respective college faculties, student representatives identified by the Student Government Association, the President, the Provost, all college deans, all vice presidents, the Academic Ombud, the chair of the Staff Senate, and a representative of the emeritus faculty.

Senate Council

The University Senate has an executive body, the Senate Council (SC), which is charged with providing leadership to enable the Senate to perform effectively its primary role of formulating and implementing educational policies of the University.

The SC is composed of nine members elected from and by the elected faculty members of the Senate. SC also includes three elected students and the two faculty trustees. The members of SC elect its chair and vice chair annually. The SC Chair typically presides over meetings of both the SC and the Senate. The SC meets weekly during the academic year and meetings are open to the public.

Committees and Academic Councils

The Senate has three academic councils and 19 standing committees. Some of the committees are chaired by and composed entirely of senators, while other committees are under the Senate’s auspices but can have a chair and membership composed of non-senators.