# University Senate February 11, 2008

The University Senate met in regular session at 3 pm on Monday, February 11, 2008 in the Auditorium of the W. T. Young Library. All votes were taken via a show of hands unless indicated otherwise. Senate Council (SC) Chair Kaveh A. Tagavi called the meeting to order at 3:02 pm.

### 1. Minutes from December 10 and Announcements

The Chair noted that no permanent parliamentarian had been identified; Professor Michael agreed to serve as parliamentarian for the day.

With regard to the minutes, there were no changes received, so the minutes from December 10 were approved as distributed.

Moving to announcements, the Chair reported that the new SC members were Debra Anderson, Joe Chappell and Holly Swanson. He also offered thanks to the outgoing SC members – Debra Harley, Judith Lesnaw and John Thelin and stated that all three had served with dedication, distinction and selflessness.

### 2. December 2007 List of BCTC Candidates for Credentials

A **vote** was taken on the motion to approve the list of candidates for credentials. The motion **passed** with the vast majority in favor, none opposed and none abstaining .

#### 3. Honorary Degrees

The Chair reminded everyone about the process and offered a little history of honorary degrees. He also introduced a fourth possible nominee. After much discussion a **vote** was taken and the motion to approve the honorary degrees and waive the Senate rule regarding recipient's attendance during graduation ceremonies **passed** with the majority in favor, none objecting, and none abstaining.

## 4. Discussion of Principles of Gen Ed Reform (for discussion only)

The Chair introduced the Provost and noted that he would be present as a resource during the discussion. The Chair introduced Associate Provost of Undergraduate Affairs, Phil Kramer who proceeded with discussion of the Gen Ed Reform status. After the discussion he welcomed comments on each of the Principles, noting again that there was no motion for approval at that time.

Before adjourning, the Chair reminded Senators of the date and location change for the next Senate meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 4:55pm.

Respectfully submitted by Kaveh Tagavi\*,

Senate Council Chair

Prepared by Adrea LaRoche, April 8, 2008.

Absences: Adams, Anderson\*, Anyaegbunam, Atwood, Barbee, Bartilow, Bhavsar, Biagi\*, Blades, Bollinger, Brown, Bush, Butler, Cammers, Case\*, Cheng, Crofford\*, Deem, DeSimone, Desormeaux, Diedrichs\*, Dwoskin\*, Effgen\*, Evans, Fox, Frost, Gesund\*, Gonzalez, Harley, Hayes\*, Heller, Hoffman, Jung, Karpf, S. Kim\*, Y. Kim, Kirschling\*, Lee\*, Lesnaw, Lester, Lillich, Martin, Mattingly, McCormick, McKnight\*, Mehra\*, Mobley, Moliterno\*, Nardolillo, Newman, Parrish, Parrot, Patwardhan\*, Pauly\*, Perman, Phelps, Rauf\*, Ray\*, Reed\*, Rieske-Kinney\*, Roberts\*, Sawaya\*, Scaife\*, Seales, Shay, Smart, M. Smith, Snow\*, Storm, Sudharshan\*, Telling\*, Terrell\*, Todd, Tracy, Turner, Vasconez\*, Vestal, Webb, G. Williams, Wiseman, Witt, Wyatt.

<sup>\*</sup> Due to time constraints, instead of University Senate Secretary David Randall, Senate Council Chair Kaveh A. Tagavi reviewed the minutes from the University Senate meeting on 2-11-08