MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE, SEPTEMBER 25, 2000

The University Senate met in a called session at 3.00 p.m., September 25, 2000 in the Auditorium of the W.T. Young Library.

Members absent were: Mike Allen, Ali Amoli, Ruth Baer *,Robert Baldwin, Suketu Bhavsar, Deborah Blades, Fitzgerald Bramwell, Joseph Burch, Lauretta Byars, Ben Carr, Edward Carter, Michael Cibull, Belva Collins, Tasha Craig, Mary Davis, George DeBin, Henri De Hahn, Mark DeJesus, Lee Edgerton, Josh Estep, Jianlin Feng, Scott Fowler, Don Frazier *, Richard Furst, Vincent Gallicchio *, Holly Gallion, Robert Gewirtz, James Gibbs *, Jimmy Glenn, Larry Grabau *, Phillip Greasley *, Howard Grotch, Steven Haist, Victor Hazard, Kay Hoffman, James Holsinger, Patricia Howard, Chad Jeske, Ling Hwey Jeng, David Johnson, Jason Johnson, James Kerley, Richard Kermode, Joachim Knuf, C. Oran Little, William Maloney, Jenawik Marcum, Patrick McGrath, William McKinney, David Mohney, Nathan Neltner, Michael Nietzel, Cody Norenberg, William O'Connor, Amanda Perkett, John Piecoro, John Rawls *, Daniel Reedy, Ellen Riggle *, Kenneth Roberts, Thomas Robinson, Tim Robinson, Brian Roth, Cynthia Ruder *, Robert Shay, David Sloan, Janella Spencer *, Kristin Stapleton, Eric Stoner, Courtney Sullivan, Allan Vestal, Retia Walker, Christopher Waller, Charles T. Wethington *, Carolyn Williams, Eugene Williams, Paul Willis, Emery Wilson, Elizabeth Zinser.

Chairperson Bill Fortune called the meeting to order, and noted that there was a quorum.

The Chair indicated that there was a correction to the minutes of the September 11, 2000 meeting at the end of page 3, re Action Item A. -- Proposal to amend <u>University Senate Rules</u>, Section I –1.2.2.1A Eligibility. "Eligilibity: At the time of the election to the Senate, the chief administrative officer of each specified academic unit shall be responsible for submitting a list of eligible faculty to the Secretary of the Senate for certification and determination of the number to be elected. <u>Faculty members on phased retirement are eligible to vote for members of the Senate but are not eligible to serve in the Senate</u>. The Secretary shall rely on the list so provided, and in case of any dispute, the Rules Committee shall be responsible for certification of eligibility. Eligibility shall be determined as of the time of the conduction of the election."

There being no further corrections, the Chair stated that the minutes were approved as circulated with the correction noted.

The Chair indicated that senators should pay particular attention to the package of information that they would be receiving shortly re agenda items for the next regular meeting of the University Senate scheduled for October 9, 2000, as there several important issues to be dealt with at that meeting. The two main items are: (a) The siting of the Bio-Medical/Biological Science Research Building, and (b) the Post tenure Review Process

He also informed Senators that minutes of meetings of the Senate would be made available on the University Senate Web site.

^{*} Absence Explained

Page 2 Minutes, University Senate September 25, 2000

ACTION ITEMS:

ACTION ITEM A – University Senate Meeting, Monday 25 September 2000. Proposal to establish a B.S. degree in Chemical Engineering and a B.S. degree in Mechanical Engineering at its Extended Campus site in Paducah, Kentucky. (Held over from the meeting on 11 September 2000).

The background and rationale circulated under date of 25 August 2000 is available in the Senate Council Office.

A motion was made by Senator Kaveh Tagavi to amend the section in the proposal relating to the establishment of Special Title Series faculty positions in these two programs and specifically to the teaching courseload proposed for the STS faculty, whereby these faculty positions have a 70% teaching responsibility and but are only required to teach 12 to 15 credit hours of undergraduate instruction <u>each year</u>. The motion called for the elimination of the sentence in the proposal: "Occupants of these positions will be expected to teach 12 to 15 credit hours of undergraduate instructions each year, to hold office hours, to be accessible to students, and make contributions that assure the success and timely accreditation of the undergraduate programs." The motion was seconded by Senator Hans Gesund.

There was extensive discussion on the amendment. Motion to end debate was made by Senator Mark Meier and seconded by Senator Mike Healy. The motion to end debate passed on a voice vote.

The motion to amend the proposal failed in a voice vote.

The Chair called for a vote on the original proposal. The proposal passed in a voice vote

PRESENTATIONS:

Chairperson Fortune outlined the important role of the Senate Committee structure. Each Senate Committee Chairperson gave a brief report.

The presentations by the Senate Committee Chairpersons were then followed by short presentations by:

- The Academic Ombud Prof. Jeffery Dembo
- Presidential Search Committee Prof. George Herring

The meeting was adjourned at 4:21 p.m.

David Durant Secretary, University Senate