## Senate Council May 23, 2008

The Senate Council (SC) met in special session at 1 pm on Friday, May 23, 2008 in room 387 of the Ralph G. Anderson Building. Below is a record of what transpired. All votes were taken via a show of hands unless indicated otherwise.

Chair Kaveh A. Tagavi called the meeting to order at 1:15 pm. Due to a variety of factors, approval of minutes from April 28 was postponed until the next SC meeting. There were no announcements.

## 2. 2008 Annual Evaluation of President Todd's Performance

SC members engaged in a lengthy discussion about scoring, comments and other aspects related to the 2007-2008 evaluation of President Todd by the Board of Trustees (BoT). By consensus, SC members drafted specific comments and determined the numerical scores for the evaluation.

Michael **moved** to send the approved comments and scores to the chair of the Board of Trustees. Chappell **seconded**. A **vote** was taken and the motion **passed** unanimously.

Subsequent to the deliberations, SC members discussed the overall evaluation process, specifically the bonus itself and the very short period of time during which faculty input should be solicited, collated and reviewed by the SC; concerns were also expressed that the evaluation continued to be conducted after many faculty had already left campus.

Chappell **moved** that the SC offer its opinion that President Todd should consider deferring any bonus for which he is eligible, given the lack of faculty and staff salary increases. Michael **seconded**. A **vote** was taken and the motion **passed** unanimously.

Swanson **moved** to send a statement that faculty members deserved a greater voice in the presidential evaluation process and that the Senate Council deserved sufficient time to solicit input from senators and faculty at large in responding to the goals on the evaluation. Anderson **seconded**. A **vote** was taken and the motion **passed** unanimously.

There being no additional business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 3:05 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Kaveh A. Tagavi, Senate Council Chair

SC members present: Aken, Anderson, Chappell, Michael, Randall, Swanson and Tagavi.

Prepared by Sheila Brothers on Tuesday, May 27, 2008.