MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE, August 27, 2001

The University Senate met in special session at 3.00 p.m., August 27, 2001 in the Auditorium of the W.T. Young Library.

Members who were absent or did not sign in are: Ali Amoli, Susanne Arnold*, Leon Assael, Ernest Bailey, Jack Blanton, Anna Bosch, Lauretta Byars*, Craig Chasen, David Durant, Joseph Fink, Matt Foltz, Daniel Frank*, Richard Furst, Robert Gewirtz, Louise Graham, Philip Greasley, Mark Hanson, Victor Hazard, Patrick Herring, Patricia Howard*, Charles James*, Ling Hwey Jeng*, Kyle Jewell, Jim Kerley, Deborah Kwolek*, Richard Labunski*, Thomas Lester*, Pat Litzelfelner*, Joyce Logan*, Josh Long, Victor Marek, Joan Mazur, William McKinney*, Ralph Miller, Angel Moore, Amanda Perkett, David Pienkowski*, Claire Pomeroy*, Ellen Riggle, Kenneth Roberts, Thomas Robinson, Tim Robinson, D.B. Rowland, Greg Rumph, Edgar Sagan, Robert Schwemm, David Sloan, Scott Smith*, Janella Spencer, Allen Vestal, Retia Walker*, Christopher Waller, Zach Webb, Carolyn Williams, Eugene Williams, Emery Wilson, Shawn Word, Sadia Zoubir-Shaw*.

* Excused Absences.

Visitors: Dan Adkins, Liz Demoran, Jami Fielding, Nancy Harrington, Shannon Iriend, John Keathley, Heinz Kohln, Amanda Kurtz, Jimmy McGraw, Lance Osborne, and Jennifer Whitt

Chairperson Bill Fortune called the meeting to order.

Chairperson Fortune introduced Gifford Blyton (Parliamentarian), Jacqualine Perkins (Secretary of the Senate), Celinda Todd, Joan Bostrom (Sergeant at Arms) and Michelle Sohner (Sergeant at Arms).

Chairperson Fortune introduced the Senate Council Members: David Durant, Brad Canon, Charles Coulston, Elizabeth Debski, Jeffrey Dembo, Lee Edgerton, Michael Kennedy, Mary Molinaro, Claire Pomeroy, Enid Waldhart, Jane Wells, Loys Mather, Josh Proffit, Tim Robinson, and Tony Stoeppel. He explained the roles of the University Senate and the Senate Council.

The next introductions made included the Standing Committees of the University Senate and the chairs of these committees. Each committee chair was asked to explain its function within the University Senate. The Committees are:

Academic Advising Chair Jane Wells **Academic Facilities** Chair Andy Spears Academic Organization and Structure Chair Lori Gonzalez Academic Planning and Priorities No Chair at present time Academic Programs Chair Charles Coulston Admission Advisory Chair David Durant Admissions and Academic Standards Chair George Blandford Institutional Finances and Resource Allocation Chair John Garen Library Chair Ling Hwey Jeng Research Chair David Randall Chair Scott Kelley **Retroactive Withdrawals** Chair Brad Canon **Rules and Elections University Studies** Chair Phil Kraemer

Page 2 Minutes, University Senate August 27, 2001

The four Academic Councils were explained: Undergraduate Council, Graduate Council, Medical Council, and Lexington Community College Council with the chairs of each council introduced Phil Kraemer, Doug Kalika, Phyllis Nash and Jim Kerley, respectively.

Information is posted on the University Senate web page. Course proposals and changes are posted on the web and the Senators have ten days to object to proposals. The senate rules along with the University Senate Agenda and the University Senate minutes can be found on the web page.

President Lee Todd was introduced by Chairperson Fortune. President Todd recapped his activities of the past two months. He then announced goals for the University of Kentucky to meet in the future. President Todd responded to a number of questions and comments from the Senators.

The video tape of this meeting will be archived at the W.T. Young Library and posted on the web.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:20 p.m.

David Durant Secretary, University Senate

USMin 8.27.01