University of Kentucky Senate Admissions and Academic Standards Committee

From: Senate Admissions and Academic Standards Committee (Joe Sottile (Chair), Todd

Cheever, Christopher Feddock, Lee Ann Jung, Alan Nadel, Glenn Telling, Don Witt, ex

officio, Kumble Subbaswamy, ex officio)

To: Sheila Brothers, Office of the Senate Council

Date: October 26, 2009

The following proposal has been reviewed and approved by the University Senate Admissions and Academic Standards Committee. There were no dissenting votes.

Changes to College of Law Admissions Requirement

Attached.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION

The following resolution was passed unanimously by the College of Law Admissions Committee at its meeting of April 18, 2007. All seven members of the Committee were present.

Resolved, that the "Statement of Admissions Policy for Applicants for an Entering Class" from the faculty minutes of December 2, 1976, be amended to read as follows:

In addition to the general requirements for admission to the University, an applicant for admission to the College of Law must meet the following requirements:

- 1. The applicant must have a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution.
- 2. The applicant must have taken the Law School Admission Test.
- 3. The applicant must have registered with the Law School Data Assembly Service and furnish the necessary transcripts such registration requires.
- 4. The applicant must provide at least two (2) letters of recommendation.

Drusilla V. Bakert, Associate Dean and Chair, Admissions Committee April 18, 2007

University of Kentucky College of Law

MINUTES OF FACULTY MEETING August 16, 2007

Attending: Dean Vestal; Executive Associate Dean Bratt; Associate Deans Bakert and Healy; Professors Cardi, Connelly, H. Davis, M. Davis, Dennis, Fortune, Frost, Gaetke, Graham, Harding, Huberfeld, Kightlinger, Lawson, Michael, K. Moore, Price, Ringhand, Schwemm, Underwood, and Weinberg.

- 1) Executive Associate Dean Bratt updated the faculty on the status of the UK External Review Committee and the renovations to the College of Law building.
- 2) The faculty undertook consideration of the Admissions Committee Proposed Resolution requiring College of Law applicants provide two (2) letters of recommendation (see attached resolution). After discussion, the resolution was approved.
- 3) The faculty undertook consideration of the petitions for readmission of James Kay, LaFarin Meriwether, Sean Perdue, and Robert Stith. After extended discussion,
 - a) the motion to readmit James Kay was denied;
 - b) the motion to readmit LaFarin Meriwether was denied;
 - c) the motion to readmit Sean Perdue was granted; and
 - d) the motion to readmit Robert Stith with standard conditions was granted.

Associate Dean Healy was charged with carrying out the results of the faculty votes.

- 4) The Curriculum Committee Chair advised the faculty regarding the committee's 2007 hiring recommendations (see attached memo).
- 5) The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Andrea L. Dennis Secretary