MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE, DECEMBER 11, 2000

The University Senate met in regular session at 3.00 p.m., December 11, 2000 in the Auditorium of the W.T. Young Library.

Members absent were: Behruz J. Abadi*, Mike Allen, Ali Amoli, Leon Assael, Ruth Baer*, Ernest Bailey*, Robert Baldwin, Suketu Bhavsar, Katherine Black*, Deborah Blades, George Blandford*, Anna Bosch*, Fitzgerald Bramwell*, Joseph Burch, Lauretta Byars, Charles Carlson*, Ben Carr, Edward Carter, Mike Cibull, Tasha Craig, George DeBin, Mark DeJesus, Roberta Dwyer*, Lee Edgerton, Nolen Embry, Josh Estep, Jianlin Feng, Scott Fowler, Daniel Frank, Don Frazier*, Richard Furst, Holly Gallion, John Garen*, Robert Gewirtz, Scott Gleeson, Donna Grigsby*, Donald Gross, Howard Grotch, John Hahn*, Steven Haist*, Michael Healy*, Patricia Howard*, Jean Jackson, Chad Jeske, Ling Hwey Jing, Jason Johnson, Benjamin Karp, James Kerley, Richard Kermode, Joachim Knuf, Thomas Lester, Joyce Logan*, Keh-Fei Lui, William Maloney, Jenawik Marcum, Diana Martin, Patrick McGrath, William McKinney, Nathan Neltner, Mike Nietzelj, Cody, Norenberg, William O'Connor, Amanda Perkett, Claire Pomeroy, Shirley Raines, Daniel Reedy, Kenneth Roberts, Thomas Robinson, Tim Robinson, Brian Roth, Cynthia Ruder*, Kathryn Sallee, Claire Schmelzer*, Susan Scollay, Robert Shay, David Sloan, Scott S. Smith, Eric Stoner, Courtney Sullivan, Allan Vestal, Retia Walker, Christopher Waller, Charles Wethington*, Carolyn Williams, Eugene Williams, Paul Willis, Emery Wilson, Elizabeth Zinser, Sadia Zoubir-Shaw.

Chairperson Bill Fortune called the meeting to order, and noted that there was a quorum.

The Chair indicated that the minutes of the 13 November 2000 meeting had been circulated and would be amended to reflect minor editorial changes. Senator Tagavi asked that the text of all amendments be included in the minutes. The Chair agreed to make this change in the minutes and to do so in the future.

Chairperson Fortune made several announcements: (a) status on Board of Trustee ballots; (b) the upcoming Senate/Board holiday social is scheduled for Tuesday, December 12 from 4-6:00 p.m. in the King Alumni House; (c) introduction of Jacqualine Perkins, new recording secretary of the Senate; (d) introduced New Senate Council members taking office in January, Jeffrey Dembo, Lee Edgerton and Michael Kennedy; noted that Don Frasier will be leaving us, (e) Senate will not meet on January 15, 2001 on Martin Luther King's birthday. The meeting will be rescheduled for either the 22nd or the 29th and notice will be sent at the beginning of the spring semester; (f) testing of sending information electronically to the University Senate members will be taking place in the future.

Senator Roy Moore announced that Bill Fortune and David Durant were re-elected as chair and vice-chair of the Council for 2001-2002.

Chairperson Fortune introduced speaker Senator Piecoro for a review of the University of Kentucky Self-Study for 2000-2002. The information from his power point presentation will be posted to the University Senate web site on approval of these minutes.

Chairperson Fortune introduced speaker Judy Lesnaw, member of the Presidential Search Committee, to report on the Presidential search. She reported that the search is on schedule and has produced excellent candidates, who cannot at this point be identified, for reasons of confidentiality.

ACTION ITEMS:

ACTION ITEM A University Senate Meeting, Monday 11 December 2000. Motion for a resolution to support a change in the Governing Regulations to provide for one of the faculty trustees to be chosen from the Lexington Campus and one from the Medical Center.

Senator Tagavi raised a procedural question. He stated that the proposal was out of order because the state statute provides that all faculty vote for the Trustees.

After discussion of this matter, Senator Holsinger made a motion to support a change in the Governing Regulations to provide for two faculty trustees, one to be a member of the Lexington Campus faculty and to be elected by the entire University faculty, and one to be a member of the Medical Center faculty and elected by the entire University faculty. Senator Piecoro seconded the motion.

The motion to support change in the Governing Regulations failed on a voice vote.

ACTION ITEM B University Senate Meeting, Monday 11 December 2000. Proposal to establish a Center for Micro-Magnetic and Electronic Devices within the College of Engineering. The proposal passed on a voice vote. The proposal is available in the Senate Council Office and will be posed to the University Senate web site on approval of these minutes.

ACTION ITEM C University Senate Meeting, Monday 11 December 2000. The Senate Committee on Academic Programs and the Senate Council recommendation for approval of changes in the Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Education, Communications, and Leadership.

The Chair invited discussion on the proposal. Dean David Johnson of the College of Communications objected to the proposal and proposed an amendment to remove all communication classes from this program. Chairperson Fortune ruled the motion out of order.

Chairperson Fortune called for a vote. Motion carried in a hand count 31 in favor and 11 against. The proposal is available for inspection on the website and in the Senate Council office.

ACTION ITEM D-1 University Senate Meeting, Monday 11 December 2000. Proposed change in Rule 4.3.1: Late Registration. Withdrawn from table for review by the Senate Committee on Academic Programs.

ACTION ITEM D-2 University Senate Meeting, Monday 11 December 2000. Proposed change in Rule 5.1.4: Pass Fail.

After discussion the proposal passed on a voice vote. A copy of the proposal is available in the Senate Council office and will be posted to the University Senate website on approval of these minutes.

ACTION ITEM D-3 University Senate Meeting, Monday 11 December 2000. Proposed change in Rule 5.2.2: Hours while on Probation. Passed on a voice vote with no discussion. A copy of the proposal is available in the Senate Council office and will be posted to the University Senate website on approval of these minutes.

Page 3 Minutes, University Senate December 11, 2000

The meeting was adjourned at 4:33 p.m.

David Durant Secretary, University Senate

USMin 12.11.00