## **Brothers, Sheila C.**

From: Senate Council

**Sent:** Wednesday, February 26, 2020 7:46 AM **To:** FACULTYTRUSTEEELECTION-L@lsv.uky.edu

**Cc:** Jones, Davy; Wood, C L.; Pienkowski, David; Brothers, Sheila C.; Brown, Roger M.

**Subject:** Faculty Trustee Election

## University faculty:

This email is to announce that the **nomination period** for the faculty trustee election **is now open** and **closes in one week** at noon on Thursday, March 5, 2020.

The term of current faculty trustee Robert Grossman is ending on June 30, 2020. Under state law (KRS 164.131), an election must be held to determine a member of the University Faculty body who will fill the seat for the new term that begins July 1, 2020. The UK Board of Trustees has delegated to the University Senate the authority to conduct the election (GR II.A.2.B.1), and the University Senate has in turn delegated the certification of candidate and voter eligibility in the election to the Senate's Rules and Elections Committee (SR 1.4.2.1).

The faculty trustee <u>nomination form</u> with instructions is available at the Senate Council office (203E Main Building and <u>online</u>). Also online are lists of faculty who are eligible to <u>nominate</u>, <u>run</u>, and <u>vote</u> in this election.<sup>1</sup> You are eligible to nominate candidates in this election.

The UK <u>Board of Trustees</u> is the highest governing body of the University and establishes the various policies directly affecting the programs created by, employment conditions of, and the academic careers of, the University Faculty. I strongly urge all individuals who are eligible to participate in any of the above election activities to do so to ensure the quality of the election and to maximize the stature of the chosen Faculty Trustee representative on the Board of Trustees.

Several past faculty trustee representatives<sup>2</sup> have generously agreed to share with others their experiences serving in this important role. Please email me for their contact information.

Roger Brown Chair, SREC Elections Subcommittee

CC:

Members of the SREC Elections Subcommittee Sheila Brothers, Senate Council Office

-----

<sup>1.</sup> For details about election eligibilities, please consult the document on "Eligibility to Nominate, Run, and Vote in the Faculty Trustee Elections". If you believe an error has occurred, please follow the "Procedures for Disputing Election Processes or Eligibilities" posted on the trustee election webpage at the University Senate website.

2

2. Dr. Robert Grossman, Dr. Michael Kennedy, Dr. Loys Mather, Dr. Everett McCorvey, Dr. Irina Voro, Dr. John Wilson,

and Dr. Ernest Yanarella