Brothers, Sheila C.

From:	Senate Council
Sent:	Thursday, April 23, 2020 5:09 PM
То:	FACULTYTRUSTEEELECTION-L@lsv.uky.edu
Cc:	Collett, DeShana; Jones, Davy; Brown, Roger M.; Grossman, Robert B.; Pienkowski, David; Wells, Gretchen L.; Wood, C L.; Brion, Gail; Minier, Jenny A.; Swanson, Hollie; Bird-Pollan, Jennifer; Brothers, Sheila C.
Subject:	Results: Faculty Trustee Election

University Faculty,

This email is to announce that voting in the Faculty Trustee election is now complete. There was a strong voter turnout with **36.4%** of eligible voters casting ballots.*

Senate Rule 1.5 2.3 ("The Final Ballot") describes the process to identify a winner. That rule first states that:

All of the first choice ballots will be counted, and any candidate who receives a majority of votes will be elected.

In this election, no candidate got a majority of the first choice votes. <u>Senate Rule 1.5 2.3</u> then defines additional election processes:

If no one receives a majority, a determination shall be made between the two (2) candidates with the largest number of first choice votes in the following manner: The second-choice votes on the ballots whose first choice candidate or candidates have been eliminated will be added to the first choice votes received by the top two (2) candidates, and the person with the larger number of total votes will be elected.

Following these processes, we recognize Dr. Hollie Swanson and Dr. Jenny Minier as the top two candidates, and then allocate the second choice votes for those who voted for Dr. Gail Brion as their first choice:

Candidates	NUMBER OF VOTES			
	First Choice Votes	Brion's Second Choice Votes	TOTAL VOTES	
Hollie Swanson	407	79	486	
Jenny Minier	266	59	325	
Gail Brion	180			

(If image does not appear in your email client, click here.)

Dr. Hollie Swanson received 486 total votes and Dr. Jenny Minier received 325 total votes, therefore Dr. <u>Hollie</u> <u>Swanson</u> is declared the elected Faculty Trustee to fill the seat that is opening July 1, 2020 for a three year term that ends June 30, 2023. We extend our congratulations to Dr. Hollie Swanson. We express our appreciation to the other candidates for their high quality University service as evidenced by their participation in this election process. And to you, the University Faculty, we express our appreciation for your participation in this important act of University governance.

Roger Brown, Chair, SREC Elections Subcommittee DeShana Collett, Chair, SREC

Cc: Senate Rules and Elections Committee; Senate Council Chair; Faculty Trustee Election Candidates, Sheila Brothers

* There were two provisional ballots cast and certified. For clarification, I mistakenly reported in an earlier email that voter turnout was 40.1% midway through the voting process.