From: Faculty Trustee Election

To: FACULTYTRUSTEEELECTION-L@lsv.uky.edu

Cc: Jones, Davy; Mazur, Joan; Wood, Connie; McGillis, Joe; McCormick, Katherine; Brothers, Sheila C; Brown, Roger;

McGrath, Patrick C; Schroeder, Margaret; Grossman, Robert B; Tagavi, Kaveh; Bird-Pollan, Jennifer E

Subject: Grossman Elected Faculty Trustee

Date: Wednesday, April 26, 2017 2:24:27 PM

Dear Members of the University Faculty,

Voting in the Faculty Trustee election **is now complete**. There was a strong voter turn-out with 37.6% of the eligible voters casting votes. Of the 837 votes cast, the number of votes cast for each candidate is shown below.

Candidate	Number of First Place Votes	% First Place Votes	Number of Second Place Votes By Voters for Third Ranking Candidate	TOTAL
Patrick C. McGrath	283	33.8	50	333
Robert B. Grossman	310	37.0	127	437
Margaret Mohr-	244	29.2	NA	NA
Schroeder				

According to the University Senate Rule 1.5.2.C

"any candidate who receives a majority of votes will be elected."

No candidate received a majority of the votes cast. In such case, according to University Senate Rule 1.5.2.C

"The second choice votes on the ballots whose first choice candidate or candidates have been eliminated will be added to the first choice votes received by the top two (2) candidates, and the person with the larger number of total votes will be elected."

Using this calculation, candidate Robert B. Grossman received a majority of the votes cast (437 vs 333), and **therefore Dr. Grossman is declared the elected Faculty Trustee** to fill the seat that is opening July 1, 2017 for a three year term that ends June 30, 2020.

We extend our congratulations to Bob Grossman. We appreciate your participation in this important act of share governance. And, we express our great appreciation to the other two candidates for their high quality University service as evidenced by their participation in this election process.

Davy Jones, co-Chair, Senate Rules and Elections Committee

Joan Mazur, co-Chair, Senate Rules and Elections Committee Roger Brown, Chair, SREC Elections Subcommittee

Cc: Senate Rules and Elections Committee; Senate Council Chair; Faculty Trustee Election Candidates