Members of the University Faculty:

This email notification is being sent to all members of the University Faculty eligible to vote in Faculty Trustee elections.¹ State law establishes the positions of two Faculty Trustees on the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees.² The purpose of this notice is to announce the initial round of voting in the election of a new **Faculty Trustee**. Our University is in a particularly sensitive time. New budgetary and programmatic policies are being formulated that will affect the careers and programs of every University Faculty member. A large turn-out by the University Faculty in this election will empower our elected representatives to the Board with a strong mandate to participate vigorously in the formation of these policies.

Under University Senate Rules, there will be an initial voting round, from which the top three vote getters advance to the final round (unless a candidate receives more than 50% of the vote on the initial round).

The outcome of the recent nomination process resulted in the certification of four candidates. The four candidates in the initial round of voting are (alphabetically, with college affiliation):

Lee X. Blonder (Medicine) Terry Conners (Agriculture) Glen Mays (Public Health) Patrick McGrath (Medicine)

Under the state law, the Faculty Trustee is to be elected by the vote of the members of the University Faculty (i.e., a member of the faculty body of one of the colleges), who are in a status of regular, full-time employment in the Regular Title Series, Special Title Series, Extension Title Series, Librarian Title Series, Clinical Title Series⁵ or Research Title Series⁶ at or above the rank of Assistant Professor, or who are tenured phased retirement faculty, and who have not been either appointed to an administrative position at/above the level of department chair⁴ or assigned a 50% or greater administrative assignment.

The electronic voting process for voting in the preliminary round is now open (Monday, April 4, 2016) at the site provided below and will remain open through <u>noon</u>, Monday, April 11, 2016.

For the election site to vote in this round, click **<u>HERE</u>**.

Once you are at the site, to enter the voting page, you will need to first enter your link blue ID/Password.

The voting process is simple and takes just a moment. Please visit the voting site by clicking <u>HERE</u> and cast your vote now. The Home Department Web Page of each of the

candidates can be found within the election site, as well as on the University Senate's <u>election page</u>.

Thank you very much for your participation in this election.

Connie Wood, Chair University Senate Rules and Elections Committee

- ¹KRS 164.130(3); web link: <u>http://www.lrc.ky.gov/Statutes/statute.aspx?id=4211</u>
- ² GR II.A.2.b(1); web link: <u>http://www.uky.edu/Regs/files/gr/gr2.pdf</u>

³Senate Rule 1.4.2.1; click this <u>link</u>

⁴ HRPP 4.0, web link: <u>http://www.uky.edu/hr/policies/employee-status</u>; reviewed in detail <u>here</u>, but summarized briefly below.

⁵ Admin. Reg. 2:6, web link: <u>http://www.uky.edu/regs/files/ar/ar2-6.pdf</u>

⁶Admin. Reg. 2.5, web link: <u>http://www.uky.edu/regs/files/ar/ar2-5.pdf</u>