MINUTES OF THE SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEETING OCTOBER 26, 2023

Members present: Drs. Jennifer Bartlett, Martha Grady, Daniel Kirchner, Joseph Sottile, and Christopher Swartz

Members absent: Drs. Jennifer Hunt, Amy Laub, Merlin Lindemann

Visitors present: None

The meeting was held via Zoom and began at 9:00 AM. The agenda included the selection of five ranked nominees for the College of Law Dean search committee.

Senate Nominating Committee members identified 16 potential nominees prior to the meeting to be considered for the dean search committee. During the meeting, each member provided a brief discussion of the qualifications of the potential nominees they identified. Members not able to participate in the meeting sent their nominations and description by email prior to the meeting.

Following the discussion, the following nominees were selected:

- 1. Anuradha (Anu) Kasarabada, Librarian IV, John G. Heyburn Archivist, Libraries
 Anu is the John G. Heyburn Archivist and has been working with the Heyburn Initiative for
 Excellence in the Federal Judiciary since its inception. Anu conducts oral histories with federal
 justices and judges with close ties to Kentucky and helps organize programs to enable the study of
 federal court issues.
- 2. Fatima Espinoza Vásquez, Assistant Professor, College of Communication and Information Dr. Espinoza Vásquez examines how marginalized communities recalibrate ICTs in the midst or aftermath of crises—like resistance movements, natural disasters, and the COVID-19 pandemic. She applies a critical and decolonial perspective and participatory approach to her research, placing the epistemological contributions of marginalized communities as a prime rather than auxiliary component of research.
- 3. Neal Hutchens, Professor and Chair, Department of Educational Policy Studies and Evaluation, College of Education

Dr. Hutchens' research focuses on the intersections of higher education law, policy, and practice, with much of his scholarship centered on issues of free speech and academic freedom in higher education. In 2015, Hutchens received the William A. Kaplin Award from the Center for Excellence in Higher Education Law and Policy at Stetson University. The award is intended to recognize nationally leading scholars whose work embraces intersections of law and policy in higher education. Co-author of the 6th edition of The Law of Higher Education, standard textbook in the field. Holds J.D. from the University of Alabama.

- 4. Nikki Brown, Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Arts and Sciences Nikki Brown has been teaching American and African American history since 1999. She majored in History at Oberlin College, and she earned a PhD in History from Yale University in 2001. Her book, *Private Politics and Public Voices: Black Women's Activism from World War I to the New Deal* (Indiana University Press) won the Letitia Woods Brown Award for Best Book in African American Women's History in 2006. The major themes in Dr. Brown's work are gender, race, identity, representation, and politics.
- 5. Rebecca Davis, Senior Lecturer, Department of Management, Gatton College of Business and Economics

Rebecca Davis obtained her Juris Doctor Degree in May 2001 from the University of Kentucky College of Law. She also holds a Bachelor of Business Administration, Concentration in Finance from UK.

The committee adjourned at 9:55 AM.

Respectively submitted,

Dr. Joseph Sottile, Chair